Can I lose my CDL if I’m Convicted of a DUI is one popular question which many people ask themselves. And yes, in this article, you will discover whether you will be lose your CDL or not assuming you are convicted of a DUI.
Driving is a privilege that is all too often taken for granted. For some, driving isn’t simply a means of getting from A to B. For a truck driver, their entire livelihood depends on their ability to drive. Having your CDL (commercial driving license) requires a certain amount of skill to navigate oversized vehicles, as well as the legal authorization to do so. A DUI can greatly impact the ability of a truck driver to work.
What are the Penalties to My CDL if I get Pulled over for a DUI
While it greatly depends on the state and the company you drive for, the first offense for a DUI often results in a 1 year minimum suspension. Subsequent offenses can result in a 10 minimum revoking of your CDL license. What’s the difference between having your license suspended and revoked? With a suspension, your license is returned at the end of the period and is considered active once again, meaning you’re able to return to work, even if that entails finding another company to drive for. When your license is revoked, you not only lose it for a set period of time, but you also have to go retake the testing and qualifications, much like you did the first time you got it.
Being without work for a year is bad enough, especially when couple with the fines that comes with being convicted of a DUI. Having your license revoked means you’re going to have to completely change your career, and even if you do get your CDL reinstated, you will most likely having a hard time finding a company that’s willing to hire you again.
What if I’m driving My Own Car?
The penalty to your CDL applies whether you’re driving a company vehicle or you’re driving your own personal car, which means that drivers with a CDL need to be extra cautious when they get behind the wheel. The penalty to your CDL also applies to DWI (driving while impaired) charges or refusing to take a breathalyzer test. Getting charged with a DUI can not only cost you a great deal financially but can also ruin your career.
What do I do if I’m charged with a DUI?
While a suspension isn’t the end of the world when it comes to your driving career, having your license revoked can be the final blow. If you’re pulled over and charged with a DUI, it’s important to get an DUI attorney. Even getting the charges lowered from a DUI to a reckless driving offense or something similar can make the difference between having your license suspended for a year or 90 days if you’re driving your own vehicle. If you’re driving a commercial vehicle then the 1 year suspension is mandatory. However, by getting the charges reduced or dropped, you stand a better chance of being able to find work as a licensed commercial driver in the future.
If you’re have a CDL it’s always important to think before you drink. While being charged with a DUI can have a devastating impact on a persons life, losing your CDL means losing your livelihood for a period of time, and perhaps your career overall.
Featured images and License – Creative Commons and source – http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Volvo_VN_tractor-trailer,_G._Goebel.jpg
Bio : +Andrew is one of the leading DUI and criminal defense attorneys in both the state of Maryland and the District of Columbia. He blogs about Maryland DUI law, has numerous videos on the subject and has been asked to appear on national television to offer his legal opinion on high-profile criminal cases
Liked this article or found it helpful? Share it with your friends using the social share buttons below and or post a comment to let us know your feedback or any addition using the comment form below.