1and1.com Personal Review – The Worst Domain Seller I Ever Came Across

1&1 Planning to buy a domain name for an instant use? This is a review basing on a personal experience with 1and1.com service which I believe that reading will help you make a decision before deciding on where to buy it from. This review is written basing on what I went through and what I am going through until now after I purchased a plot and my credit card was charged although until now, I have never been given access to what I bought (by the way, I used another domain seller and bought the same domain name I had paid for and which is showing as new in my 1and1 control panel.

It all begun when I wanted to pay for a clients domain name and was eargerly looking for a discounted name for as low as $0.99 and which led me to 1&1 not knowing that all was a waste of time in addition to having my card charged for no reason since I never got the service I paid for. Immediately after going through all the steps from choosing my domain name, creating an account and paying using my credit card, I eventually received the order acknowledgment letting me know how they had received my order as seen below..

Customer ID:   xxxxx
Dear Mr. xxxxx,

Thank you for ordering 1&1 Instant Domain. This e-mail
confirms that we have received your order.

Please note that no product has been activated to this point. This
e-mail serves as an acknowledgement of receipt only.

What are the next steps?

We are currently checking your order. Once we have configured your
product, you will receive an additional e-mail containing useful setup

If you have any questions, give us a call. Our team is happy to assist
– 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at: 1-866-991-2631 (free of charge).
Or send an e-mail to:

[email protected]


1&1 Internet Inc.

After another 5 minutes, I got another email confirming my order as seen below..

Dear Mr. xxx,

This E-mail confirms your order. Thank you for choosing 1&1.

With your 1&1 Web Hosting package, you’ve made the right choice!

>>>>Your customer ID: 2957647xxx
>>>>Your product ID: 50958xxx

Domain(s): xxxxxx.com

Start building your online presence:

We are currently in the process of setting up your package. You’ll be able to start using it in about 10 minutes. To do so, log in to your 1&1 Control Panel using your login data.

If you’re already a 1&1 customer, you can use your existing login data. If you’re a new customer, please use your customer ID xxxxx and the password specified when you placed your order.

If you don’t remember your password, click the “Forgot Your Password?” link and follow the instructions.

Connect your domain:

Any additional domain you have ordered can only be registered if the domain name is still available. Registering a new domain by the respective NIC (Network Information Center) usually takes about two hours. On rare occasions, it may take up to three days.

In your 1&1 Control Panel you can find the current status of your order and the option to set up your domain either through the menu item “Domains”.

If you’re requesting a domain transfer, it may take up to two weeks for your domain to be ready to use. If you need more information on the domain guidelines, please click here.

Help with your web hosting package:

If you have questions on general topics such as setting up WordPress or migrating your mailbox, please refer to our 1&1 Help Center.

If you have specific questions regarding the use of a product, you can find answers directly in your 1&1 Control Panel by clicking the “?” icon.

We hope you enjoy your new web hosting package!

Best Regards

Customer Care Manager US

And immediately after 10 minutes as mentioned in the email message above, I successfully logged into to my domain control panel and the domain was listed under my domains but with the new status which meant no possible edits and changes for example to point it to my hosting provider.

Gosh, I had to email them back and below is the message I sent..


Its almost 20 minutes and I cant use my domain name..

I am getting this error

“The current domain status does not allow the modification of the settings”

I want to point my domain name to my location.

Help me out please!

And their reply was below..

Dear xxxx xxx Customer ID: 29576xxx),

Thank you for contacting us.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that this technical glitch has brought you. This is a bug on the system that is already known and reported to our developers. At the moment, we do not have an estimated time frame for the fix however rest assured that we are currently working on a resolution. Once we have the fix, it will be implemented to all affected customers. To ensure that your case will be taken cared of, we have already added the details of your case to the list of affected customers. We understand that you might be anxious to have this resolved as soon as possible so thank you so much for your patience while we work on the resolution.

If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,
Technical Support
1&1 Internet Limited

For sure, I had to wait a little longer and which meant till the next day as I was sure that the bug they mentioned about would be corrected but I was a fool I admit since that never worked yet my client was on my neck at the same time..

The second day even before they activated my domain name, these guys never go scared to send me an email letting me know how it was important to rate them just like you see what they sent below..

Please share your experience with us!

Dear xxxxxxx.

Thank you for your recent purchase from 1and1.com.

In order to improve the satisfaction of our customers, we have partnered with the independent review site Trustpilot to collect customer reviews.
Click here to rate us on Trustpilot

All reviews, good, bad or otherwise will be viewable immediately.

Thanks for your time.

Best Regards

Please note: This email is sent automatically, so you may have received this review invitation before the arrival of your package or service. In this case, you are welcome to wait with writing your review until your package or service arrives.

If you want to opt out of receiving review invitation emails from Trustpilot, please click unsubscribe. Note that this includes all review invitation emails from all merchants using Trustpilot’s review invitation service.

I responded a one time message as seen

I bought a domain name and almost 24 hours, its not activated for me to use..


And here is what they responded even when they never activated my domain..

Dear xxxx,

Thank you for contacting 1&1 Customer Care. Your inquiry is important to us. We have Customer Care Agents staffed 24/7 to help you with any of your concerns. As soon as an agent is able to look into the matter, you will receive a reply from us with a Case ID. Please do not reply to this message.

Did you know that many of our customers’ common concerns are already covered in the 1&1 Help Center? If you have time, you might be able to find a solution to your inquiry by searching the 1,000+ Help Center articles we have in the 1&1 Help Center:


For more urgent matters, we suggest that you contact us by phone, where you can talk to a 1&1 Customer Care Agent immediately:


Thank you for using 1&1 for your Webhosting needs. A 1&1 Customer Care Agent will be in contact with you shortly.

Customer Care
1&1 Internet Inc.

After another day, I sent them another email as seen…

I bought a domain name and its not working… Customer ID: 29576xxxxx / Contract: 5095xxxx – 1&1 Instant Domain and too attached the screen shot of what my account was showing..

Freebie:- It's free and designed for you! Claim yours here now

They responded as below..

Dear xxxx xxx  Customer ID: 29576xxxx),

Thank you for contacting us.

Please be informed that the domain under your account is still not active. Please take note that the newly registered domain will be active within 24-48 hours. Your patience and understanding is much appreciated.

If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact us.

I sent them another email as below..

Hello, I bought a domain name from you  50958867 – 1&1 Instant Domain and until now, I cant have the domain with me in my account. All I can see is this error “The current domain status does not allow the modification of the settings.”:
Could you please free my domain name so that I can use it? You took the money from my debit card but the domain name is still showing as available for purchase….

Kindly give me the domain name or simply refund my money ASAP!

They responded and this was very contradicting and here it is below..

Dear xxxx xxxx Customer ID: 29576xxxx),

Thank you for contacting us.

We do apologize for the inconvenience that this has brought you. This is a bug in the system and our admin are already aware. However, our admin also provided work around.
For this domain xxxxxxxxxx.com, we would advise you to cancel and re registered it again.

If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact us.

I responded inquiring what happens to the money I paid as seen..

What happens to the money which was taken from my card? Do you refund
it or I use the same money to pay when am re-registering?

Thank you..

That was the end since until now, they never responded. To be honest, I have always read and seen reviews about 1and1 but never agreed. This time round it was me and I now know what they are all about. The next time you think of buying a domain name, think twice before deciding on who to use and or from where to buy…

The last thing I did was to look out for a different domain seller where I paid for the same domain (meaning that 1&1 had not even reserved the domain yet they had taken my money from the card) and so far, the domain is up and running on my host….

Liked this article or found it helpful? Share it with your friends using the social share buttons below and or post a comment to let us know your feedback or any addition using the comment form below..

KWS Adams

My name is KWS Adams. Blogging is my Passion. I love writing and sharing about everything. Connect me on Twitter, Facebook, Google+ and Whatsapp.

12 Responses

  1. เนอร์สซิ่งโฮม says:

    Do you have a spam problem on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was
    wondering your situation; many of us have created some nice procedures
    and we are looking to trade methods with other folks, please shoot me an email if

  2. andy says:


    Just wished I’ve read this post 20 minutes ago. :))

    Oh well, that’s life.

  3. homme extreme says:

    Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on websites
    I stumbleupon everyday. It will always be useful
    to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their sites.

  4. Nike Air Max 90 Womens Trainers White Blue says:

    Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words
    in your post seem to be running off the screen in Firefox.
    I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with
    internet browser compatibility but I figured
    I’d post to let you know. The design and style look great though!

    Hope you get the issue resolved soon. Thanks

  5. Angelo says:

    I think this is among the most significant information for me.

    And i am glad reading your article. But want to remark on some
    general things, The website style is perfect, the articles is really great : D.
    Good job, cheers

  6. Shanel says:

    I think this is among the most significant information for me.
    And i am glad reading your article. But want to remark on some general things, The website style
    is perfect, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

  7. Chanda says:

    You really make it appear really easy together with your
    presentation however I to find this matter to be actually one thing that I feel I might
    never understand. It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me.
    I’m having a look ahead for your subsequent post,
    I’ll try to get the cling of it!

  8. Serpanio says:

    You are right about 1and1.com. I tried them once and I swear not to again. Bad communication and glitches every day.

  9. Singh says:

    Never buy any service from 1&1. They have the bad customer service I ever seen. Check the internet and read their reviews, So bad everywhere.

  10. Emilly says:

    That is how 1and1 behaves. They don’t avail the domain to the the client not until after some days like 4 or even a week. I will never use them again. Sorry!

  11. KWS Adams says:

    And guess what, after this post went live, I got an email from them and here it is….

    “Dear xxx xxxx Customer ID: 2957xxxx),

    Thank you for contacting us.

    First of all you are not charge of any
    registration fee from 1&1 since the domain name was not registered successfully. The Instant Domain package you have is free and the domain name xxxxxxxx.com will not
    generate any invoices since it is stuck on the registration state. The work around that was provided to you in the only option for you to successfully register the domain name.

    If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact us.

    Best Regards,
    Xxx xxx xxxx”

    For sure, I will not contacte the again since I already registered the same domain else where.. And I wonder why they say it was a free package when my card was charged as the transaction details below..

    “Card Alert For Card Ending: 3420

    Date:14-10-2014 09:23

    POS Debit UGX 2,715 ($0.99 equivalent)

    Available Balance: UGX xxxx

    Description: 1&1 INTERNET INC.

    Could it be that they don’t count simple charges on peoples cards? No please, any money is money and remember, one by one makes a bundle…

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to Scroll or Navigate this site, you agree to the use of cookies. More info

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.